Friday, July 14, 2006

Border fence roll call

The Senate voted 71-29 Thursday against an appropriations amendment that would have funded 370 miles of fence along the U.S.-Mexico border.

The Senate voted to build the fence in May as part of their "compehensive" immigration-reform bill -- a/k/a, The Amnesty That Dare Not Speak Its Name -- and so now they are like Kerry on Iraq: The were for the fence before they were against it.

Only two Democrats voted to authorize funding for the fence, while Republicans split with 27 yeas to 28 nays.

Please notice that the four most vulnerable incumbent Republican senators facing re-election this fall -- DeWine, Santorum, Burns and Talent -- all voted "yes" for the fence. This is especially key for DeWine, who was excoriated by conservatives when he voted for the amnesty bill in May. His vote Thursday in favor of funding the border fence gives DeWine a chance to portray himself as a "get tough on illegal aliens" candidate and differentiate himself from his centrist Democrat challenger, Sherrod Brown.

Democrats voting YES (2)
Carper, Del.; Nelson, Neb.

Republicans voting YES (27)
Allen, Va.; Brownback, Kan.; Bunning, Ky.; Burns, Mont.; Burr, N.C.; Chambliss, Ga.; Coburn, Okla.; Craig, Idaho; Crapo, Idaho; DeMint, S.C.; DeWine, Ohio; Dole, N.C.; Ensign, Nev.; Enzi, Wyo.; Grassley, Iowa; Hatch, Utah; Inhofe, Okla.; Isakson, Ga.; Lott, Miss.; Roberts, Kan.; Santorum, Pa.; Sessions, Ala.; Shelby, Ala.; Talent, Mo.; Thomas, Wyo.; Thune, S.D.; Vitter, La.

Democrats voting NO (42)
Akaka, Hawaii; Baucus, Mont.; Bayh, Ind.; Biden, Del.; Bingaman, N.M.; Boxer, Calif.; Byrd, W.Va.; Cantwell, Wash.; Clinton, N.Y.; Conrad, N.D.; Dayton, Minn.; Dodd, Conn.; Dorgan, N.D.; Durbin, Ill.; Feingold, Wis.; Feinstein, Calif.; Harkin, Iowa; Inouye, Hawaii; Johnson, S.D.; Kennedy, Mass.; Kerry, Mass.; Kohl, Wis.; Landrieu, La.; Lautenberg, N.J.; Leahy, Vt.; Levin, Mich.; Lieberman, Conn.; Lincoln, Ark.; Menendez, N.J.; Mikulski, Md.; Murray, Wash.; Nelson, Fla.; Obama, Ill.; Pryor, Ark.; Reed, R.I.; Reid, Nev.; Rockefeller, W.Va.; Salazar, Colo.; Sarbanes, Md.; Schumer, N.Y.; Stabenow, Mich.; Wyden, Ore.

Republicans voting NO (28)
Alexander, Tenn.; Allard, Colo.; Bennett, Utah; Bond, Mo.; Chafee, R.I.; Cochran, Miss.; Coleman, Minn.; Collins, Maine; Cornyn, Texas; Domenici, N.M.; Frist, Tenn.; Graham, S.C.; Gregg, N.H.; Hagel, Neb.; Hutchison, Texas; Kyl, Ariz.; Lugar, Ind.; Martinez, Fla.; McCain, Ariz.; McConnell, Ky.; Murkowski, Alaska; Smith, Ore.; Snowe, Maine; Specter, Pa.; Stevens, Alaska; Sununu, N.H.; Voinovich, Ohio; Warner, Va.

Independent voting NO (1)
Jeffords, Vt.